The Parent Agency by David Baddiel – A Review and Giveaway

The Parent Agency by David Baddiel – A Review and Giveaway

If you could swap your parents would you? If they gave you a name you hated would you swap that too?

The Parenting Agency by David Baddiel explores a world where children are allowed to choose their own parents. I ask Tween (age 11) to review this book for me, at first he was a little perterbed at the thought of choosing his own parents. He’s just had a birthday and as far as he’s concerned he’s quite happy with Daz and I as his mum and dad. We read the blurb on the back together and he decided it sounded quite fun after all.
The parenting agency

He found the book really funny, turning over the page as he read a really amusing bit at school so he could recite it to me at home. We struggle to find books which Tween will read and engage with so to see him willingly sit down and get stuck in is a welcome sight. I’m compiling a list of our top books to get boys reading to which this one will be added. I asked Tween to explain to me why he liked the book and here’s what he said;

“I’d recommend children from age 9, I like it how it skips from one problem to another at the beginning. It makes you realise why he doesn’t like his parents. It’s not in a sad way though but you can see his point, especially because he thinks his parents prefer his sisters. It really sounds like a boy my age speaking and there’s lots of words I use and my friends use, I think that’s why I found it so easy to read.”

For a little more information watch the YouTube below from the author and famous comedian, David Baddiel.

 

If that’s tempted you, it’s available to buy from here or you can try your luck in the competition below

 

 

Enter Competition

I’ve been shortlisted in the mums and working awards, it’d be awesome if you could spare to minutes to vote for me Click here for the voting form.

 

 

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky

Competitions at ThePrizeFinder – See more at: The Prize Finder

Follow:
Share:

51 Comments

  1. iain maciver (maci234)
    25th June 2015 / 10:54 am

    the famous five

  2. Ruth Harwood
    26th June 2015 / 8:05 am

    The Hobbit

  3. Paula Readings
    26th June 2015 / 12:11 pm

    The Faraway tree by Enid Blyton.

  4. Laura Pritchardl
    26th June 2015 / 7:04 pm

    Back Home by Michelle Magorian

  5. claire woods
    26th June 2015 / 8:48 pm

    The Enchanted Wood

  6. ashleigh allana
    28th June 2015 / 10:46 am

    The tiger who came to tea!

  7. aaron broad
    29th June 2015 / 11:46 am

    The Gruffalo

  8. ELAINE DALE
    29th June 2015 / 4:09 pm

    used to love Enid blyton’s FAMOU S 5 books

  9. Paul Scotland
    29th June 2015 / 7:02 pm

    Just william was my favourite childhood book

  10. laura stewart
    30th June 2015 / 4:34 pm

    the gruffello

  11. Rachel Butterworth
    30th June 2015 / 8:29 pm

    The Borrowers.

  12. Michaela Hannah
    2nd July 2015 / 4:30 am

    Danny the champion of the world

  13. Sara JaneG
    4th July 2015 / 11:51 am

    the water babies

  14. Lucy carter
    5th July 2015 / 9:12 am

    The Magic Faraway Tree

  15. Christopher Read
    5th July 2015 / 2:13 pm

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar

  16. Michelle Banks
    5th July 2015 / 7:37 pm

    the magic faraway tree x

  17. Joseph Westhead
    5th July 2015 / 9:36 pm

    Always will be Harry Potter.

  18. Lisa Ellert
    6th July 2015 / 9:05 am

    magicf araway tree

  19. Elizabeth Hinds
    6th July 2015 / 9:31 am

    I loved all of Enid Blyton’s books, especially the Mallory Towers series 🙂

  20. Emma Mason
    6th July 2015 / 1:49 pm

    Teddy Robinson. I loved him (and Deborah of course!!)

  21. lynn heath
    7th July 2015 / 5:12 pm

    My favourite book from when I was younger was called The year without Micheal

  22. barbara clarke
    9th July 2015 / 1:13 pm

    i loved the famous five books

  23. Carole n
    11th July 2015 / 10:27 pm

    The tiny world of the Borrowers was my favourite.

  24. Kristy Brown
    12th July 2015 / 8:09 pm

    Any of The Secret Seven

  25. Pamela Gossage
    13th July 2015 / 12:58 pm

    I love the Borrowers

  26. anita hargreaves
    13th July 2015 / 3:56 pm

    The Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

  27. kris
    14th July 2015 / 2:01 pm

    matilda 🙂

  28. Pam Francis Gregory
    14th July 2015 / 9:35 pm

    The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe

  29. Monica Gilbert
    14th July 2015 / 9:58 pm

    I always love the Little House on the Prairie series.

  30. Dawn Andrews
    15th July 2015 / 3:42 am

    I can’t recall having a favourite. I loved lots of books at various stages, including Flat Stanley, Amelia Bedelia, Bridge to Terabithia, and Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret.

  31. Emma Fox
    15th July 2015 / 11:36 am

    Anne of Green Gables

  32. Minnie15
    15th July 2015 / 2:00 pm

    Matilda – Roald Dahl 🙂 x

  33. Pauline Wilson
    15th July 2015 / 2:47 pm

    I loved Pippi Longstocking

  34. joanne liddement
    15th July 2015 / 4:18 pm

    As a child I loved Anne of Green Gables

  35. Sheri Darby
    15th July 2015 / 4:24 pm

    The Famous Five Books

  36. zoe somerfield
    15th July 2015 / 6:27 pm

    The Faraway Tree

  37. kate sabin-burns
    15th July 2015 / 8:57 pm

    The naugtiest Schoolgirl, Enid Blyton

  38. Katie
    16th July 2015 / 8:57 am

    Harry Potter!

  39. Sarah Parker
    16th July 2015 / 10:19 am

    The Witch of Blackbird Pond 🙂

  40. emma kinsey
    16th July 2015 / 10:26 am

    r.l.stine books gooseumps

  41. Diana
    16th July 2015 / 11:08 am

    The Hobbit 🙂

  42. Victoria Prince
    16th July 2015 / 3:01 pm

    Ruby Ferguson’s “Jill” series!

  43. Chris Fletcher
    16th July 2015 / 8:34 pm

    I loved the Twits by Roald Dahl!

  44. Denielle Nicol
    16th July 2015 / 9:12 pm

    Plop, the little owl who was afraid of the dark

  45. Em S
    16th July 2015 / 10:15 pm

    Cinderella

  46. Karen Richards
    16th July 2015 / 10:52 pm

    The Faraway Tree – Enid Blyton

  47. Jennifer Baker
    16th July 2015 / 11:00 pm

    Matilda by Roald Dahl

I'd love to know what you think?