Sooty ABC DVD review and Giveaway

Sooty ABC DVD review and Giveaway

I’m a complete 80’s child when it comes to TV nostalgia. It’s not that I spent my primary school years sat in front of a television, far from it. My childhood was relatively TV free, consisting of poorly days lunchtime (which always ended as soon as The Sullivans theme tune started, I HATED than programme!) the odd rainy day show and a little when we got home from school. The one show I clearly remember was  The Sooty Show. I loved the naughty bear and how Soo kept them all in check. I was really surprised to hear it was still going so when I was contacted to review a copy, curiosity got the better of me.

Sooty abc dvd review by Mum in a Nutshell

 

Here’s the blurb

Join Sooty, Sweep, Soo and Richard in their Alphabet Adventure, a perfect way to introduce little ones to the alphabet.  This special direct-to-DVD programme where the gand visit Wookey Hole for a letter learning adventure with lots of laugh out loud comedy along the way

As my sister is a primary school teacher, I asked her to watch the DVD with her children and give me her thoughts. Nothing like getting the professionals involved!

A fun DVD loved by all three of my children (ages 2, 6 and 9). It linked letter names and sounds well to everyday situations. J (6 years) loved predicting and linking phonemes and graphemes (e.g. “Soo can also be Sue, Mummy, but it’s different from the oo in Sooty.” A lot of it went over I’s (2 years) head, however I sat with them and told her to repeat the sounds showing her my mouth shape and she loved the fact that I was sat with her watching TV (rare occurrence!)

It’s definitely a good start to introducing sounds and letters to toddlers. The sounds could ideally be pronounced better (too harsh) 

The children asked to watch it again and I’ll definitely encourage, it may hep to reiterate sounds to J (6 years)who has a minor speech impediment. W (9 years) said it was Bear-able (great pun W!)

reviewed by Teacher-Sister somewhere in Oxford.

So if that’s got you thinking about ways to help your little one with their early years learning, how about having a shot at winning your own copy which is released on Monday 2nd March

A perfect Easter gift the DVD is packaged with a printed A-Z poster and also features three classic episodes from the hit CITV series: The Swimming Lesson, The Farm and Beach Patrol and includes printable worksheets to enhance the learning experience.”

You can also follow Sooty on Facebook 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Win competitions at ThePrizeFinder.com

Follow:
Share:

39 Comments

  1. laura banks
    1st March 2015 / 1:35 pm

    knight rider

  2. iain maciver
    2nd March 2015 / 10:39 am

    the million dollar man

  3. elaine dale
    2nd March 2015 / 10:49 am

    it has to be Minder

  4. Harley
    2nd March 2015 / 11:07 am

    Grange hill

  5. Margaret Lee-Roberts
    2nd March 2015 / 11:47 am

    The old favourite: Coronation Street.

  6. Maxine Owen
    2nd March 2015 / 12:14 pm

    Byker Grove

  7. Karen Laing
    2nd March 2015 / 12:47 pm

    It would have to be Dallas or Dynesty,all those shoulder pads and hairstyles,some good looking guys too,what was not to like xx

  8. Sarah Archibald
    2nd March 2015 / 8:52 pm

    I wasnt born until the 90s! But I do like tom and jerry 🙂

  9. lynn heath
    4th March 2015 / 2:32 pm

    A.L.F was my fav, I wish they would bring it back!!!!

  10. samantha price
    5th March 2015 / 11:56 am

    night rider

  11. Michelle Banks
    7th March 2015 / 7:50 am

    knight rider , loved KIT

  12. tina edwards
    8th March 2015 / 9:32 pm

    brookside

  13. Becca Staples
    11th March 2015 / 10:44 am

    Superted and Bananaman x

  14. kim neville
    11th March 2015 / 11:53 am

    Liked Knight Rider

  15. jen lloyd
    11th March 2015 / 3:55 pm

    trapdoor

  16. Michelle Ferguson
    11th March 2015 / 8:45 pm

    Family ties

  17. claire matthews-curtis
    12th March 2015 / 12:18 pm

    I loved Worzel Gummidge.

  18. Miss Janet Carter
    12th March 2015 / 1:36 pm

    Different Stokes

  19. ELZBIETA ZNYK
    12th March 2015 / 2:32 pm

    ALF

  20. Kate Cass
    13th March 2015 / 5:48 am

    When I was old enough, as the eldest I got to watch Brushstrokes with my Mum, loved that, probably my first ever atavistic crush!

  21. Wendy Guy
    13th March 2015 / 7:46 am

    Definitely Knight Rider.

  22. Hayley Todd
    13th March 2015 / 11:01 am

    The Cosby Show

  23. Paul Walsh
    13th March 2015 / 11:46 am

    Knightmare. I always wanted to go on that.

  24. katie
    13th March 2015 / 10:28 pm

    oooo has to be knight rider 🙂

  25. katie skeoch
    13th March 2015 / 10:51 pm

    The mysterious city of gold !!

  26. Cat Culmer
    13th March 2015 / 10:56 pm

    Rainbow Bright!

  27. Vicky Yaxley
    14th March 2015 / 9:28 am

    I loved Button Moon 🙂

  28. George Williamson
    14th March 2015 / 12:28 pm

    Taggart

  29. Caroline Howard
    14th March 2015 / 1:05 pm

    Rainbow Brite

  30. simon mcfarlane
    14th March 2015 / 1:42 pm

    Knight Rider

  31. 14th March 2015 / 1:55 pm

    The Flinstones… I think they were in the 80’s

  32. pauline black
    14th March 2015 / 2:13 pm

    dukes of hazard

  33. NICOLA TERRY
    14th March 2015 / 2:51 pm

    Button Moon

  34. charlotte
    14th March 2015 / 3:15 pm

    Trap Door
    DangerMouse

  35. LEE HARDY
    14th March 2015 / 6:15 pm

    The A-TEAM

  36. Kim Styles
    14th March 2015 / 6:33 pm

    The Adventure Game

  37. karen Howden
    14th March 2015 / 8:58 pm

    The Professionals

I'd love to know what you think?