A Pipity Activity Case Review

A Pipity Activity Case Review

Lets set the scene; you’re driving along, it’s been 2 hours on the road, you’ve played eye-spy, the car colours game, sang silly songs, eaten all the snacks, watched a DVD and you’re only halfway on route to your destination. You can factor in a couple of stops but the kiddies are getting restless. “Are we there yet” has begun, closely followed by “how long till we get there?” and  “I need a wee” then the inevitable “I’m bored.”

I’ve been there many a time and despite my military style travel planning, it often amounts to a stressful start to a holiday or day out.

Now image another scene; you’re driving along, it’s been 2 hours, you’ve played eye-spy, the car colours game, sang silly songs, eaten all the snacks, maybe watched a DVD but you’ve already decided that this holiday will be screen free, so possibly ditched the iPad or DVD player altogether and so the kiddies are sitting quietly drawing, doodling, playing a game, making puppets and putting on a show, designing and colouring in paper dolls. Heck, they’re having so much fun the holiday started the moment you left.

Intrigued? You should be, because I may have just found the answer to all your screen free woes. The Pipity. 


Yup, you heard it a Pipity, see I said it again.

A Pipy – what?

A P-I-P-I-T-Y

A boredom busting activity pack design by a fellow Devon lass Kate de Bass. When Kate contacted me to ask if she could send me a Pipity pack to see what I thought and if I approved, share a review on Mum in a Nutshell (Only items I like appear on this site, I’m quite choosey) I agreed on the basis that as a small business, it’s nice to be able to give them a leg up into the parenting market but if I’m honest, I was under no illusion that this review opportunity would make my heart skip but, wow, was I wrong!

a pipty activity case
I headed over to the website and watched the DVD and started to see just how amazing the Pipty range actually was. We’ve used activity packs before but this one is leaps and bounds above any thing I’ve seen before, it’s clear that a lot of care and thought has gone into making the kit appeal to children of any age and gender. (it states 6 up, but I’m sure would appeal to slightly younger little ones under close supervision.)


I received a Pipity activity case,  Pipity portfolio and some Pipity books and from the off was impressed by the quality of packaging.

Pipity Actvivity Case


This comes covered in oil cloth material, with a grab handle and debatable shoulder strap. held together with elastic cover covers. It’s hard backed making it fab for leaning on and the elastic has the added use of holding paper in place. It comes with a set of colouring pencils, a pencil with rubber, scissors, glue stick, sharpener and ruler,

Pipity Books

a pipity activity case
You can co – ordinate it with a dress up dolls book, a Pipity puppet shows book, a paper pad, an activity starter pack and my favourite, the games on the go.

Pipity Portfolio


To keep all the sheets and creations you have portfolio perfectly sized to store them all in.

Can you tell how excited I am about this yet? The size is just right for small hands and will give you hours up on hours of screen free time. So far we’ve used it on rainy indoor days, car journeys, restaurants and it’ll be coming with us on our next mini break and train trip. For the cost of a couple of DVDs, this will see you through many more years while offering a learning rich activity,  harnessing creativity, social skills, co operative play, fine motor skills, speech and language opportunities and imagination.

If you haven’t left by this point to pop over to the Pipty website and check it out for yourself, here’s a chance to win one of your own. Or if you really can’t wait hop over to the website for 15% off using code INTRO1
Disclaimer *I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a sample for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

Follow:

58 Comments

  1. Caroline Raj
    17th July 2015 / 6:46 am

    OMG! I absolutely love this. I started reading your post and I was yes, yes that is me! Yes I have thought that a million times – what the hell are we going to do for the next couple of hours! Thank you so much for the review and sharing this great product!

    • 19th July 2015 / 8:23 am

      Can you tell I’m an old pro at being rubbish at entertaining kids on car journeys!

  2. 17th July 2015 / 8:09 am

    This looks lovely. Do they do adult versions too 🙂

    #pocolo

    • 17th July 2015 / 8:34 am

      I know, I think this will be a family one, almost too good for the kids to have free rein!

  3. 17th July 2015 / 9:40 am

    That looks really lovely, my children would love it. x #PoCoLo

    • 19th July 2015 / 8:22 am

      It’s a great little set for keeping them amused in lots of different situations

  4. 17th July 2015 / 12:37 pm

    Haha we need this in the car cuz it looks so nice with all those pockets! We have so many knickknacks in there and they are all over the floor and the back pocket and under the chair! #pocolo

    • 17th July 2015 / 1:32 pm

      I like that they can lean on it too and use the handy pockets to store everything

  5. Tracy K Nixon
    17th July 2015 / 1:41 pm

    I love the pipity gift set in pink!

  6. Martina Pichova
    17th July 2015 / 2:42 pm

    I like the dress up dolls activity.

  7. lynn heath
    17th July 2015 / 4:22 pm

    I think my girls would have loads if fun with the dress up dolls and my son would love the on the go games!

  8. debbie smith
    17th July 2015 / 5:16 pm

    i love the pipity portfolios sutch lovely colours x fab giveaway x

  9. 17th July 2015 / 7:04 pm

    I love the pink one!

  10. L tabstar (@LTabstar)
    17th July 2015 / 7:40 pm

    I love the activity books – my little one loves books like these.

  11. 17th July 2015 / 7:50 pm

    I’m very intrigued! Sounds like a winner and looks good…although I may have to wait until my daughter is a tad older… not sure about her scissor skills just yet! #pocolo

    • 17th July 2015 / 8:01 pm

      I think they appeal to more independent kids, I would have loved this when I was little, especially being able to carry it round like a handbag!

  12. Catherine McAlinden
    17th July 2015 / 7:57 pm

    These are perfect for car journeys! I love the puppet show set!

  13. ashleigh allan
    17th July 2015 / 9:14 pm

    The pipity portfolio looks great!

  14. 17th July 2015 / 9:21 pm

    I love the portfolios. I’ve just bought a new desk so a portfolio would be great to stay organised. Great competition. Thanks for linking up to the #BinkyLinky

  15. kayleigh Bates
    17th July 2015 / 9:40 pm

    This looks fab, were going on a few long trips this summer so would be perfect. I love the pink one x

  16. Ruth Harwood
    18th July 2015 / 9:21 am

    The portfolio cases look great for organising!

  17. aaron broad
    18th July 2015 / 11:19 am

    The Pipity Portfolio looks great

  18. Nige higgins
    19th July 2015 / 8:26 am

    A super giveaway thanks for linking to the Binkylinky

  19. 19th July 2015 / 9:40 am

    This looks like such a great product for keeping children entertained on car journeys my oldest would have loved this a year or so ago xx #blinkylinky

  20. claire griffiths
    19th July 2015 / 11:45 pm

    i like the look of the pipity portfolios

  21. Alison Joyce
    20th July 2015 / 10:51 am

    On the go games – perfect for keeping my daughter entertained

  22. Caroline H
    20th July 2015 / 11:52 pm

    I really like the Activity Starter Pack. Pipity’s a great idea – there’s always so much to organise for a trip that it takes away all the thinking and effort needed to make sure you’ve got enough on-the-road entertainment.

  23. Lorraine Tinsley
    21st July 2015 / 9:11 pm

    I love the activity case, the pink one would really entertain my daughter and it’s in her favourite colour

  24. Samantha Loughlin
    22nd July 2015 / 5:20 pm

    It looks like a lovely set would love to try this out with children

  25. Michelle Banks
    27th July 2015 / 7:27 pm

    i love the pipity activity case x my grandaughter would love it x

  26. Stephanie Whitehouse
    30th July 2015 / 7:40 am

    I could see us having fun with Pipity Puppet Shows. Nice to have something to play with when the craft is finished

  27. Elizabeth Hinds
    30th July 2015 / 4:03 pm

    What an amazing idea! I love the Pipity Portfolios! 🙂

  28. Hayley Lynch
    2nd August 2015 / 6:49 pm

    i love the pipty portfolio folders x

  29. Laura Nice
    4th August 2015 / 6:49 pm

    The activity sets would be much loved in my house!

  30. Rebecca Townsend
    5th August 2015 / 9:48 am

    The Dress -up Dolls look really fun and good quality too,, I’m sure my daughter would get lots of enjoyment making & playing with them.

  31. Dawn Andrews
    6th August 2015 / 4:34 am

    The Pipity Gift Sets look great.

  32. Christine Caple
    6th August 2015 / 11:17 am

    I love the Activity Cases.

  33. Sarah A L
    8th August 2015 / 6:00 am

    Pipity gift set. So cute. Is it acceptable for adults to have one? :p

  34. Solange
    9th August 2015 / 5:49 am

    The pipity gift sets

  35. 9th August 2015 / 5:51 pm

    I love the activity set case, fantastic for days out and long car journeys.

  36. Karen Gray
    10th August 2015 / 6:38 am

    I love the Pipity Activity Case in Blue. We always have an On The Go bag with us to keep us amused on car journeys, tips to see family, eating or drinking out and this would be a fantastic addition to that. Thanks for the review.

  37. stephanie campbell
    10th August 2015 / 12:26 pm

    love the blue pipity activity case

  38. Susan Hall
    11th August 2015 / 1:37 pm

    The red activity case

  39. Liz Briggs
    11th August 2015 / 3:04 pm

    I like the Pipity Activity Case in Pink x

  40. Barbara Handley
    11th August 2015 / 7:14 pm

    I think the Activity Starter Pack looks good.

  41. Diana
    12th August 2015 / 8:59 am

    On the go games : )

  42. Ashley Phillips
    12th August 2015 / 9:57 am

    I love the portfolios, my 5 year old daughter loves drawing and im always looking for places to put them to keep them safe from her little sister.

  43. Pamela gossage
    12th August 2015 / 1:52 pm

    I love the Dress Up Dolls

  44. 12th August 2015 / 4:01 pm

    My son would love the red one. How fantastic that you can buy refills. Great product.

  45. Emma
    12th August 2015 / 10:19 pm

    The activity case. Great that you can buy refills.

  46. Liam Bishop
    13th August 2015 / 12:06 pm

    I bet the puppet show activity book is fun, especially if you get a pirate puppet!

  47. Andrea A
    13th August 2015 / 12:12 pm

    On the go games

  48. Jo Glasspool
    13th August 2015 / 9:28 pm

    The Activity case, its ideal for the kids. and I wouldn’t mind one myself!

I'd love to know what you think?