A Milk & Mummy Breastfeeding Clothing Boutique Review

A Milk & Mummy Breastfeeding Clothing Boutique Review

As some of you may know I’ve decided that my breastfeeding journey isn’t ready to come to an end just yet, and with it a persistence in that I refuse to sit in a toilet and feed my baby when out and about. I did it when Teenager and Tween were babies but this time round I’m a lot little older and wiser and have something else in my ammo to make public feeding a lot easier for me and anyone who I end up feeding in front of.

11 years ago my breastfeeding kit consisted of a couple of white nursing bras and a poncho, stretching to a blanket if said poncho wasn’t within gabbing distance. I had absolutely no idea nursing clothes were available, (maybe they weren’t) But thanks to the wonderful world of social media and the blogging community I’ve been introduced to a fabulous boutique which sell comfortable and stylish breastfeeding clothes called Milk and Mummy.

Not only do nursing or breastfeeding clothes makes it easier to feed your baby without the nonsense of lifting down tops and showing too much flesh or even worse, lifting up tops and showing a post baby wobble beyond ‘sucking in’. (That’ll be me then *** waves hands guiltily***) They make feeding more discreet, like you’re giving your baby a cuddle and you can get to the goods much quicker, essential when you have a starving baby!

So as much as I’d like to show my defiance and whip ’em out without a care in the world, the breastfeeding debate goes on and so I can concentrate and relax, feeding without worrying about upsetting anyone, showing my saggy belly (I know, before you shout, it’s housed 3 babies and I should be proud, but I’m still not used to what I see most of the time) and getting to the goods quicker, I have a few nursing clothes in my wardrobe.

Have I convinced you yet?

Well if not hop on over to Milk and Mummy and see for yourself. (spoiler alert, you’ll be confronted with a stunning occasion dress as soon as you visit.) There are some gorgeous tops and dresses which will see you through the summer months be it every day wear or occasional, and with free returns and free delivery if you spend over £80, you don’t have to worry about ordering the wrong size. The months after having a baby are always tricky  to know what size you are as you start to loose the baby weight.
I order the ‘Zoe’ a navy knee skimming dress with stunning neckline detail. It’s made from a soft bamboo material which hangs beautifully. The cut around the neckline is super flattering and is thick enough to hide my dodgy nursing bras which I really need to replace! As we’re being very lucky with the weather at the moment, I can get away with wearing it on its own but it will look equally nice teamed with leggings on a cooler day and a cream card thrown over my shoulders.


The turn around is very quick too so there shouldn’t be any hanging around waiting for your parcel to arrive, mine was posted late afternoon and was delivered the next day, coming beautifully gift wrapped in tissue paper. When you’re going to treat your self to something it’s always nice to have the whole sh-bang.

 

make breastfeeding easier with clothes from boutique Milk & Mummy

your order arrives wrapped in tissue paper,

 

I was very nearly tempted by this gorgeous maxi dress but as I am useless in heels and only 5ft 3, long dresses rarely fit which is a real shame as I’d love to be able to rock a laid back, maxi look with a pair of fancy flat sandals. Maybe that’s another niche in the market, maxi nursing dress’ for short chicks? Dragons Den anyone?

breastfeeding friendly dress from online boutique, Milk & Mummy
Any way, as you’ve probably guessed by now, I’m a huge advocate of Milk and Mummy, I remember only too well-being a nervous breastfeeder in public as a first time mum and it would have been so much easier if I’d been able to wear some of the outfits available now, hence why I’m all too happy to spread the word so  other mums can feed out and about while looking and feeling comfortable and fabulous.

Disclaimer 

I was sent a dress for my honest thoughts in this review. All opinions are my own 

Follow:

24 Comments

    • 15th July 2015 / 12:54 pm

      You’ll know why I rave about the service they offer now then!

  1. 13th July 2015 / 10:09 pm

    Oh wow those dresses are gorgeous, I live the navy one. I am not breastfeeding but I would love to wear it anyway. It would get me out of maternity clothes oops 😉

    • 13th July 2015 / 10:12 pm

      They are multipurpose maternity ones as well but it’s a while since I needed them!

  2. 13th July 2015 / 10:16 pm

    I meant to comment earlier! You look beautiful I love that dress! I also love Mummy and Milk – I’ve just got myself a Josie for my brothers wedding! #maternitymondays

    • 14th July 2015 / 1:09 pm

      Thank you so much (just checking you haven;t listen me as the Milk and Mummy model though! All the selfies I took did’t show how stunning it was so thought their photos would look better.) It is very flattering, my husband even made a nice comment and he;s usually very reserved about compliments!

  3. Adventures of a Novice Mum
    14th July 2015 / 1:44 am

    Beautiful … I really like breastfeeding outfits. They do make for more relaxed breastfeeding experience when you’re out and about … easier to cover the bits you want covered without trying to keep extra clothing over your child. They’re just so clever and stylish those breastfeeding outfits. I’ve heard of Milk and Mummy but I haven’t checked them out yet.

    Well done for carrying on. I’m sure you’ll know when it’s really time to stop. #MaternityMondays

    • 14th July 2015 / 1:07 pm

      Thank you, I tried covering up when I fed my first baby and it was never a nice experience. I read an awful story on Facebook about a mum feeding in Primark and being hounded out by the security guard and it’s blown her confidence now, I’m sure a nice dress like this would restore her faith in feeding in public.

  4. 14th July 2015 / 9:40 am

    What lovely clothes…..They look gorgeous and sound great for breastfeeding x

    • 14th July 2015 / 12:59 pm

      They are aren’t they, I’m gutted the maxi dress won’t fit me, I love that colour.

  5. 14th July 2015 / 9:46 am

    I’m currently breastfeeding and love to wear dresses but they are the trickiest thing to feed in I find. It’s fab to see such a gorgeous range of dresses which are tailored for nursing mums. I love the look of this one.

    • 14th July 2015 / 12:59 pm

      I really missed wearing them until I found this site and the good think is I can keep wearing it after I stop as it’s not obviously a feeding dress.

  6. 14th July 2015 / 3:08 pm

    What a fantastic dress, looks ‘normal’ and stylish! I’m bf my three month old and am finding the jeans plus two tops (one up one down) trick a bit warm at the moment and a dress like this would be perfect! Off to check out the website 🙂
    #triedtested

    • 15th July 2015 / 12:53 pm

      I managed with leggins and a couple of t-shirts for the 1st few weeks but last summer would’ve been a lot better style wise if I’d known there were such nice breastfeeding friendly clothes out there!

  7. Emma's Mamma
    16th July 2015 / 9:47 am

    Gorgeous dress! I ended up buying all of my nursing tops and dresses from H&M but they’re quite limited in selection. Will definitely keep this shop in mind next time around x #brilliantblogposts

    • 16th July 2015 / 10:18 am

      I like how unique they are, I hate being spotted out with the same clothes on as someone else.

  8. 16th July 2015 / 7:53 pm

    Gorgeous dress! I will definitely be checking out their website!
    #brilliantblogposts

  9. 17th July 2015 / 8:25 pm

    I had a winter tunic from Milk & Mummy when I was feeding Amy. I always wished I’d invested in more feeding clothing over the years. It was so tricky trying to find things I could wear.
    Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested this week x

  10. LadyNicci
    19th September 2015 / 10:26 pm

    I am totally with your sentiments on feeding in public. We may get to the day when noone bats an eyelid if you do whip them out, but for me, I was always more comfortable covered up, and lots to do with all body parts, not just boobs! We’re finished feeding now, but looking forward to future babies and trying this brand perhaps 🙂

    • 20th September 2015 / 8:39 pm

      I think there will always be a divide between the breast and bottle and peoples opinion, what I love about breastfeeding clothes though is how easily accessible the are and just looks like you’re giving your baby a cuddle.

I'd love to know what you think?