Let them eat cake! A Baker Days personalised cake review.

Let them eat cake! A Baker Days personalised cake review.

Let me set the record straight, before I indulge you with the beautiful scenes of what arrived through my letter box this morning. I do not, and have never had, delusions of grandeur, but if you were ask which member of royalty I most closely resembled, then it would have to be Marie Antoinette. The simple reason being is that I have an ever so slight cake habit. In my defence, I worked out that as it contains 2 of the main food groups I could, theoretically, survive solely on cake if needs must. So imagine my delight when I was asked if I’d like to review a personalised cake. Mmmmm, let me think. A cake, with my name on, through the post. Oh go then. (Actually, in really, real life, I acted entirely on impulse and replied with out even giving it a second though.) The cake in question was a Baker Days letter box sized Valentine cake. Now, I love my husband dearly, so in hindsight, should have personalised it with his name however greed got the better of me and the worry that he might see this as a reason not to share, I decided to choose one personalised with my name in the hope that if it came to it, I could argue to my family that as it was my name and this is technically my job to review it, I should be the one to eat it. There are many designs to choose from on the Baker Days  website and you can choose sizes from cup cakes through to larger cakes. The Letter box cake I chose is the perfect size to fit through your letter box, hence the name! My only worry was how it would survive the journey, I had no faith that the delivery firm would abide by any FRAGILE warning so was half expecting a bashed up resemblance to a cake that had been kicked around the rugby field several times. Fear not! I actually arrives in a pretty and reusable cake tin and is packaged in a very secure cardboard packing box. Baker Days letter box personalised cake review http://muminanutshell.com Did you notice the Love Hearts sweets and card too? I thought that was a really nice touch and I’m going to offer these to my family as a peace-offering, fingers crossed it works.  Baker Days cake review http://muminanutshell.com   The cake it’s self was almost too good to cut into, not that it stopped me. My mission was to review the cake and this obviously involved me eating all of it  a slice. A Baker Days personalised cake review http://muminanutshell.com At first glance I thought this looked like a romantic cake for 2, cut down the middle and shared with a loved one during a champagne picnic, but after a taste, it’s actually quite rich and even for a cake connoisseur / addict like myself, a quarter is just right, for now. I say for now, as it’s really moreish and after my initial slice I returned for more, and more, and more. But for any controlled and disciplined person a quarter is probably just enough. A Baker Days personalised cake review http://muminanutshell.com   The size would be ideal as a gift and if you order before 2pm you can get next day delivery. (Take note, Dear Brother O’mine, no excuses for my birthday this year, a NEXT DAY DELIVERY OPTION is available.) although if you want free delivery you’ll need to order a week in advance. So would I like to recommend receiving a cake through the post? Absolutely, who wants cards when you can have cake! Baker Days cake review by http://muminanutshell.com

 

Follow:

111 Comments

  1. 14th January 2015 / 8:54 pm

    I’d love the Brilliant Husband cake as it’s his birthday in a couple of weeks and he really is being my rock at the moment through some tough times.

  2. Kaci Soderstrom
    14th January 2015 / 9:15 pm

    I’d probably pick one of the valentines designs

  3. Maxine Owen
    15th January 2015 / 1:38 pm

    Pink dinosaur number cake for my niece’s 1st birthday next month!

  4. Neil Firth
    15th January 2015 / 1:53 pm

    It’d be the valentine design, for my wife

  5. Janine Phillips
    15th January 2015 / 1:54 pm

    Keep Buggering On is fab x

  6. elaine stokes
    15th January 2015 / 2:09 pm

    i love the Keep eating Cake

  7. Zoe Little
    15th January 2015 / 2:10 pm

    Pugs and kisses valentines cake for my fiance x

  8. Tracey Peach
    15th January 2015 / 2:12 pm

    So many beautiful Valentines Day Cakes! They look delicious too. I would pick the Valentines Roses Cake xxx

  9. Pingback: Anonymous
  10. Laura Charlie
    15th January 2015 / 2:20 pm

    I LOVE the ‘My Valentine’ design, very simple but really cute and meaningful! <3 Would be amazing to spoil the one I love with this beauty 🙂

  11. tiggerific1973
    15th January 2015 / 2:20 pm

    It would have to be a Valentines cake 🙂

  12. Keith Hunt
    15th January 2015 / 2:28 pm

    To My Valentine Cake

  13. tracy nixon
    15th January 2015 / 2:31 pm

    I’d choose the Pugs & Kisses design thank you!

  14. kim neville
    15th January 2015 / 4:49 pm

    I like the Valentines Roses Cake

  15. denise
    15th January 2015 / 6:14 pm

    i would choose the pugs and kissess too 🙂

  16. joanne darnell
    15th January 2015 / 6:17 pm

    A romantic valentines cake

  17. Deborah B
    15th January 2015 / 6:46 pm

    the romantic valentines cake

  18. Rebecca Nisbet
    15th January 2015 / 7:42 pm

    love a valentines one for the day, would be fab!

  19. donna l jones
    15th January 2015 / 7:47 pm

    the valentines cake please

  20. Hayley Lynch
    15th January 2015 / 9:46 pm

    MY FAVOURITE IS THE VALENTINE HEARTS DESIGN

  21. teresa sheldon
    15th January 2015 / 10:05 pm

    Keep eating cake says it all!

  22. katie Kathurima
    15th January 2015 / 10:47 pm

    To My Valentine Cake

  23. Kat Glynn
    16th January 2015 / 10:12 am

    I would choose the Valentines Roses Cake x

  24. Helen Stratton
    16th January 2015 / 10:41 am

    The I Really Love You cake.

  25. Julie Savage
    16th January 2015 / 11:29 am

    I would choose the “I Love You Everyday” design

  26. lynn heath
    16th January 2015 / 12:21 pm

    I would choose the meant to bee cake!

  27. Eva Appleby
    16th January 2015 / 1:22 pm

    The Valentines Roses Cake

  28. Andrea Balderstone
    16th January 2015 / 2:58 pm

    I would choose the Valentines labrador cake as it is so cute.

  29. karen cowley
    16th January 2015 / 7:30 pm

    The valentines for my husband, he deserves it so much this year after looking after me after Pneumonia, bless him x

  30. Amanda Brett
    16th January 2015 / 8:19 pm

    i love the husband cake-he so deserves it too 🙂 xx

  31. Gill McLeod
    16th January 2015 / 10:18 pm

    30th birthday pink cake

  32. Allan Wilson
    17th January 2015 / 7:50 am

    The Valentine’s Panda Cake.

  33. Jules Naybur
    17th January 2015 / 10:29 am

    Montys Valentine’s cake is brilliant x

  34. Alex Brownlee
    17th January 2015 / 12:51 pm

    Pugs & Kisses

  35. Robby Price
    17th January 2015 / 3:13 pm

    The Valentines design

  36. katie skeoch
    17th January 2015 / 5:19 pm

    The XOXO cake!

  37. Kay Norris
    17th January 2015 / 6:28 pm

    I would love the Meant to Bee Cake 🙂 I love it and love this blog x Good luck all x

  38. Jayne T
    17th January 2015 / 10:31 pm

    I#d choose the yummy looking Monty’s Valentine.

  39. PDC
    17th January 2015 / 11:36 pm

    The Valentine’s Day cake

  40. Miriam Pereira
    18th January 2015 / 12:59 am

    XOXOXO

  41. Tom Newman
    18th January 2015 / 8:46 am

    A range of really great designs but I would choose the valentine design

  42. Priscilla Stubbs
    18th January 2015 / 11:25 am

    Valentine’s Day is not too far ahead so I would opt for that if I am lucky, thanks

  43. Laura Robinson
    18th January 2015 / 1:09 pm

    I would love a valentines cake for my hubby lee as he is amazing!! I lost 2 nans within 6 months so he is my rock!! Xx

  44. Laura Pritchard
    18th January 2015 / 1:22 pm

    I’d pick the Meant to Bee Cake

  45. Stacey Tripconey
    18th January 2015 / 5:12 pm

    I really love you cake 🙂

  46. Maureen Moss
    18th January 2015 / 5:24 pm

    I’m Very Sorry…it would cover a multitude of sins

  47. Julia Linsley
    18th January 2015 / 7:10 pm

    I would choose the Valentines Roses Cake

  48. Ellie Spider
    18th January 2015 / 8:38 pm

    The Littler Mermaid Princess cake 🙂

  49. Amanda Botterill
    18th January 2015 / 10:03 pm

    Valentines Snowman

  50. Emma Beckett
    18th January 2015 / 11:31 pm

    I would choose the motorbike cake

  51. Michelle Addy
    19th January 2015 / 1:36 am

    To My Valentine

  52. Katie Walker
    19th January 2015 / 10:19 am

    I love the valentines bird cake

  53. Jeremy Andrews
    19th January 2015 / 10:26 am

    I would chose the very funny, “EAT CAKE DRINK BEER THEN PASS OUT'” 🙂

  54. Julie Fisher
    19th January 2015 / 12:03 pm

    I love Pugs and Kisses.

  55. Samantha Bolter
    19th January 2015 / 2:22 pm

    I would pick the Meant to Bee cake. Thanks for the chance to try #win 🙂

  56. Abigail Cullen
    19th January 2015 / 2:59 pm

    Valentines Snowman

  57. Susan McMurray
    19th January 2015 / 4:47 pm

    I would love the Valentine cake it looks so yummy

  58. JENNY REYNOLDS
    19th January 2015 / 8:30 pm

    great prize yummy yummy xxxxxxxx

  59. caroline kelly
    19th January 2015 / 8:31 pm

    Happy birthday

  60. adele knight
    19th January 2015 / 9:26 pm

    I Love You Everyday cake

  61. Charlene Keddy
    19th January 2015 / 11:16 pm

    XOXOXO cake

  62. Kate Cass
    20th January 2015 / 12:53 am

    Just got married so this is our first Valentines together and Wow this would be a wonderful prize! I think I would choose Darling Valentine or I Love you Everyday. They are all lovely

  63. lianne wightman
    20th January 2015 / 9:04 am

    Valentines Kisses….i love it! and my hubby loves cake!!

  64. Laura Whittle
    20th January 2015 / 10:06 am

    Sporadic Valentines Hearts – lovely simple design x

  65. Michelle Hughes
    20th January 2015 / 10:34 am

    I would love the valentines day one for my husband xx

  66. Lucy carter
    20th January 2015 / 10:56 am

    I’d choose the I Love You Everyday cake

  67. Jen
    20th January 2015 / 12:52 pm

    What an awesome cake!

  68. Tracey baker
    20th January 2015 / 12:55 pm

    I Love You Everyday cake just fab!! xx

  69. Sarah Cooper
    20th January 2015 / 1:40 pm

    valentine design, for my husband

  70. LEE HARDY
    20th January 2015 / 1:48 pm

    valentine design, for my wife

  71. Anneka Hulse
    20th January 2015 / 2:00 pm

    i would choose Valentines Cakes: Valentines Panda as i always call my fiance my panda

  72. Stacy F
    20th January 2015 / 5:16 pm

    I’d choose the Love is all around cake for my Husband xx

  73. Allan Fullarton
    20th January 2015 / 6:15 pm

    To my Valentine cake.

  74. Becci Cleary
    20th January 2015 / 7:25 pm

    The Valentines Snowman cake, I am Olaf OBSESSED at the moment – sure my partner would appreciate it 🙂
    in the end 🙂

  75. Sinead Dimmer
    20th January 2015 / 7:47 pm

    XOXO for my husband

  76. Leanne Perrett
    20th January 2015 / 8:10 pm

    i like the ” i heart you ” one

  77. Lynsey Buchanan
    20th January 2015 / 9:19 pm

    I would choose the Valentines Roses Cake if I were the winner

  78. Anthony Harrington
    20th January 2015 / 9:45 pm

    I would pick Bear Hugs!

  79. Tammy Neal
    20th January 2015 / 9:52 pm

    id love Hearts Photo Upload valentine cake as its just to cute and it shows how much love i have for my boyfriend 😀

  80. lorraine evemy
    20th January 2015 / 10:54 pm

    Wow really impressed by the look of this cake.I also love the fact that it comes in a tin that serves as a reminder of a very special gift xx

  81. Charmian Filewood
    21st January 2015 / 12:35 am

    Purr Purr Purrr… one for my hubby, especially seeing as we have 6 fur babies 😛 lol

  82. Karen Painter
    21st January 2015 / 5:08 am

    I’d choose the Valentines Roses Cake

  83. Nicola Holland
    21st January 2015 / 7:15 am

    The Darling Valentine cake is my favourite

  84. Hayley Todd
    21st January 2015 / 7:41 am

    I would choose the Classic Princess Cake for our daughter!

  85. Frances Heaton
    21st January 2015 / 7:43 am

    I would choose the Valentines Bird design for my husband as he is always in the garden, and loves feeding the birds.

    http://www.bakerdays.com/cakes/845

  86. EMMA WALTERS
    21st January 2015 / 9:39 am

    love the pugs & kisses 🙂

  87. 21st January 2015 / 9:47 am

    I love Bakers Day cakes, they are so soft and full of taste. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

  88. Kristen Bradley
    21st January 2015 / 10:20 am

    The I Love You cake for my amazing husband for valentines

  89. Louise A
    21st January 2015 / 11:32 am

    i like the Sporadic Valentines Hearts cake

  90. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs
    21st January 2015 / 11:56 am

    Love the Olaf Snowman Valentines cake 🙂

  91. Jenny Brady
    21st January 2015 / 3:39 pm

    The Pug and Kisses Cake – An in joke with me and my partner 🙂

  92. Laura Jeffs
    21st January 2015 / 5:41 pm

    I’d pick the Valentines Panda..it’s lovely! 🙂 xx

  93. Catherine Gregory
    21st January 2015 / 8:05 pm

    The Well Done cake for my sister when she passes out as a qualified train conductor after 12 weeks of intense training

  94. Natalie Gillham
    21st January 2015 / 8:44 pm

    Pugs & Kisses – chocolate cake 🙂 x

  95. Lauren Pilkington
    26th January 2015 / 11:32 am

    my favourite is Product Code: 839, Sweet Heart of Mine Valentines Cake

  96. Sarah Buckley
    27th January 2015 / 3:30 am

    I’d choose the Valentines Snowman! It’s perfect because we are always singing Olaf’s song from Frozen together!!

  97. Alison MacDonald
    27th January 2015 / 9:52 am

    I would chose the Valentines Panda it’s gorgeous 🙂

  98. Maria Jane Knight
    27th January 2015 / 12:41 pm

    I love the Valentine’s Hearts cake <3

  99. Rachael Marsden
    27th January 2015 / 2:15 pm

    would have to be pugs and kisses

  100. Kerry Kilmister
    27th January 2015 / 2:29 pm

    I love the Cute Kittens Valentines Cake as we have two cats.

I'd love to know what you think?