Boys into books – A SHOUTYKID Book review

Boys into books – A SHOUTYKID Book review

Getting my boys to read has always been a thankless task. I’m a book lover so could never understand their reluctance to bury their heads and drift off to another world. I’ve tried everything to encourage them, usually via the professional advice of my sister whose a primary school teacher. I’m fully aware how important it is that they read and it’s the precursor to a whole lot if other learning but I’m also fully aware that if I’m forcing them and bribing them to do it then they’re just going to associate it with feeling bad.

Which is why finding a good book that draws them in and keeps them wanting to come back to it is gold dust.

So whenTween was more than excited to find 2 fresh new books waiting for him when he came home from school this was a good sign and I’m lucky enough to have a nephew who is the polar opposite when it comes to reading, with the two boys the best of friends I gave one to each of them to read and share what they thought of them.

First up is:

Name -Tween

A Shoutykid book review by Mum in a Nutshell

Age – 10, nearly 11

Loves – skateboards, playing games on his XBox and Hudle, his baby brother

Reviewing –

A review for Shoutykid by Simon Mayle,

ShoutyKid How Harry Riddles Mega-Massively Broke the School

I like this book as it reminds me of myself. I love gaming and there are lots of things about gaming all the way through but I also like sports and my mum had a baby recently. My favourite bit was when he helps his mum get to the hospital, then finds out he’s not in trouble anymore  and is going to have 2 baby brothers. It’s also really funny and I like that the chapters are quite short. It would suit boys, children who like gaming or any children who have an annoying brother or sister. I’m looking forward to swapping books with my cousin and reading the other book and sharing it with my friends in school. Great book.

And from my book-worm nephew…

Name – Willbo (not his real name!)

Age – 9 1/2

Loves – reading, cricket, Playing Nintendo DS

Reviewing

A book review of Shoutykid by Simon Mayle

 How Harry Riddles made a Mega-amazing Zombie Movie

I loved reading this book, I wanted to keep reading it until I’d finished. I would tell 9, 10 or 11 year olds to read it, both girls and boys. It is so easy to read because of the way it is written. It is just letters, text messages and emails that make a story.

It is about a young boy whose family is having a tough time. they are going to be kicked out of their home because they can’t afford to live there. The son, who’s called Harry, comes up with a plan to help! His hobby is video-gaming, which he wants to do all the time. So he decides to make a movie. His first movie was terrible but after hard work his second was incredible and got over 4.5 million views on the internet. I would like to be like Harry, playing video games all the time!

My favourite part was near the end when his movie was a great success. Please, please read the book!

As a parent, I found the Shoutykid website really useful, the resources section has some really good ideas for supporting  learning and activities for your children to do once they’ve read the book.

Both books are available from Amazon  and look out for book 3 in August 2015
 

Now you’ve read the review, you’ve got the chance to win your own copy of SHOUTYKID – How Harry Riddles mega-massively broke the school

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I’m linking in with Kid Tested at The Giggled Family And Share With Me – Lets Talk Mommy
Family Fever
Mummascribbles

More competitions at ThePrizeFinder

Follow:
Share:

67 Comments

  1. ashleigh allan
    14th April 2015 / 8:46 am

    Focus on emotions!

  2. Tracy Nixon
    14th April 2015 / 9:01 am

    The write a speech resource!

  3. 14th April 2015 / 9:24 am

    We read this book too! It’s a perfect book to get them reading, as it’s written in more of a fun, current way.

    • 14th April 2015 / 9:32 am

      I think it appeals to them as its so current and up to date. My don really identified with it.

  4. 14th April 2015 / 9:39 am

    I am a School Librarian and totally get the difficulty with getting boys to read, I also have a little boy so trying to get him into it as early as possible. Great book review, I think I will go and get it for the Library. xxx #twinklytuesday

    • 14th April 2015 / 1:53 pm

      I’m thinking of donating these to our school library now as they did such a good job at keeping my son focused.

  5. iain maciver
    14th April 2015 / 10:22 am

    Focus on emotions

  6. Susan Lloyd
    14th April 2015 / 1:36 pm

    The write a speech resource is fab x

  7. 14th April 2015 / 1:55 pm

    I like the emotions bit – going to look more closely at that.

    #KidTested

    • 14th April 2015 / 6:07 pm

      The extended learning resources are really useful. I’m sure they’d make a good homework opportunity for teachers

  8. Ashley Beolens
    14th April 2015 / 2:10 pm

    getting the kids to review stuff is a great way to keep them interested (my daughter loves it when her opinion is asked for our blog). I might see if I can use a similar tactic on my eldest (he doesn’t like reading, I think it has to do with his dyslexia, but we try to stop him using that as an excuse).

    • 14th April 2015 / 6:05 pm

      It certainly worked for me, he’s going through his books now to see what else he can vlog & has set up his own YouTube channel.

  9. clair downham
    14th April 2015 / 6:58 pm

    i like the write a speech resource thankyou

  10. 14th April 2015 / 7:40 pm

    Love that these include interest of children today. Great way of drawing them in. #KidTested

  11. laura banks
    14th April 2015 / 8:08 pm

    the Focus on emotions!

  12. Jessica Powell
    14th April 2015 / 9:49 pm

    the focus on emotions resource looks really great x

    • 14th April 2015 / 10:34 pm

      Thanks Jody, the boys loved doing it. may have to get them to do some more now.

    • 14th April 2015 / 10:33 pm

      They’re written in such a way that it really grabs their attention, I’ve had a sneaky read too!

  13. Kay panayi
    14th April 2015 / 11:33 pm

    Writing a speech

  14. Jo Glasspool
    14th April 2015 / 11:45 pm

    The focus on emotions.

  15. 15th April 2015 / 10:14 am

    They sound great books for pre-teen age readers – I think my daughter would enjoy them. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

  16. gemma brown
    15th April 2015 / 10:18 am

    the focus on emotions

  17. Laura Pritchard
    15th April 2015 / 2:24 pm

    The Storyboard resource is really engaging, particularly for boys.

  18. andrea tinkler
    15th April 2015 / 3:45 pm

    Write a speech one looks useful xx

  19. Sarah rees
    15th April 2015 / 7:31 pm

    Focus on emotions

  20. laura stewart
    15th April 2015 / 7:51 pm

    Focus on emotions

  21. 15th April 2015 / 9:18 pm

    Those look excellent. I’m always looking for books for the Tubblet as she’s not a keen reader either. Thank you #sharewithme

    • 15th April 2015 / 10:02 pm

      My son found them really funny, looking forward to the next one coming out now

  22. Paula Readings
    16th April 2015 / 7:59 am

    The Storyboard.

  23. Harley
    16th April 2015 / 9:58 am

    Focus on emotions x

  24. kidGLloves
    16th April 2015 / 4:13 pm

    The Mother says – What great reviews. We have a birthday coming up for an 11 year old boy and I really like buying books for pressies(I’m a bookworm too!) so these look ideal. #sharewithme

  25. 16th April 2015 / 7:19 pm

    Never heard of these books before they look great #KidTested

    • 16th April 2015 / 7:31 pm

      Neither had I til we were sent them, the boys seem to like them do must by good

  26. lynn heath
    16th April 2015 / 8:39 pm

    I like the pre-reading activity, I think that if my son was engaged prior to opening the book he might stay focused for longer

  27. 16th April 2015 / 8:59 pm

    My little one is only two and a half but I try and read to him every night and get his interest in books. At the moment it’s hit and miss although he does get obsessed with one book at a time so sometimes have to read the same story every night for a week (or longer haha). Like you say, reading is so important. We are both big readers in this house so hopefully it’ll rub off onto him! Glad your boys have found stuff to really enjoy – love their reviews 🙂 thanks so much for linking up with #twinklytuesday

    • 16th April 2015 / 9:08 pm

      Thanks Lisa. I’ve kept the books the boys loved to read over & over again when they were little, it’s such a shame they’re not as big readers any more though.

  28. Jenny
    17th April 2015 / 10:21 am

    Sounds like a great book. Good review hunny. Great photos. Thank you ever so much for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

  29. claire woods
    19th April 2015 / 9:02 pm

    storyboard

  30. Amy Withnall
    20th April 2015 / 1:35 pm

    The write a speech resource is really good 🙂

  31. 25th April 2015 / 11:50 am

    The focus on emotions one, would be great for my ASD son

  32. paul pratt
    29th April 2015 / 12:09 pm

    the focus on emotions one would be great for our little one, she is turning 4 and is really struggling in this department

  33. nicola james
    29th April 2015 / 4:45 pm

    pre-reading

  34. Spencer Broadley
    29th April 2015 / 6:32 pm

    Focus on Emotions

  35. claire little
    30th April 2015 / 12:41 am

    the focus on emotions resource looks fab x

  36. jodie yorke
    1st May 2015 / 4:48 pm

    Focus on emotions!

  37. Corinne Peat
    2nd May 2015 / 4:52 pm

    Write a speech.

  38. Angela Kelly
    2nd May 2015 / 6:12 pm

    I like the write a speech resource, I’d love to win this for the school library

  39. Victoria Prince
    2nd May 2015 / 7:38 pm

    I like the Storyboard, think it will engage those that wouldn’t necessarily be compliant!

  40. Rita
    3rd May 2015 / 1:42 pm

    Focus on emotions

  41. Chantelle Kemp
    3rd May 2015 / 4:00 pm

    I like the write a speech resource 🙂

  42. Patricia Avery
    3rd May 2015 / 11:34 pm

    Write a speech resource 🙂

  43. Monika S
    3rd May 2015 / 11:35 pm

    Focus on emotions

  44. aaron broad
    4th May 2015 / 10:55 am

    Write a speech looks pretty good

  45. Minnie15
    4th May 2015 / 12:21 pm

    The storyboard looks fab – would be great to use this in school 🙂 x

  46. joanne liddement
    4th May 2015 / 2:32 pm

    Write a Speech is good to teach children how to speak publically with a good format.

  47. Graham Ashworth
    4th May 2015 / 5:34 pm

    Focus on Emotions

  48. 4th May 2015 / 8:25 pm

    I like the Focus on Emotions resource =)

  49. Natalie Crossan
    4th May 2015 / 10:47 pm

    focus on emotions

I'd love to know what you think?